Norway Night 2013

January and Feburary last year I needed to do something special to bring people to my store Nordic Galleri. The winter season can be rough on business owners in small towns, its freezing cold and many regular customers have fled to Arizona and Florida. I dont blame them, I would have loved to do the same:) But for the “home-stayers”, I thought about what I should do. The idea came to me during Christmas Holiday in Norway in 2012. Me and my daughter was staying with my parents (I had rented out my apartment to “survive” financialy!). At my parents house there is a lot of photo albums that my dad have put together for many years. I had the “library-bedroom”, and had easy access to the albums. Looking thru them always bring back many memories, and I started thinking about making a presentation using some of my family pictures. I would call it “Norway – the last 40-year”. It became a presentation of different historical events and happenings in Norway since 1972 (the year I was born), blended in with my familie pictures and my family history. I thought it worked out very well, and from the feed back I think my guests at Norway Night enjoyed it. 

But a presentation was not the only thing. I wanted to share some Norwegian food also. I made Norwegian meatballs the way my mom makes them, lefse with a different twist, gulost and geitost, rice cream and a few other things. All tasted very good and everybody loved it!! 

This year there will be no Norway Night (Im in Norway for a  while longer..) but I am thinking about sharing bits of last years event in Nordic Galleri`s newsletter. You can sign up for our online newsletters at www.nordicgalleri.com

The new picture on top of my blogg is one of the pictures used in my presentation. This picture shows what  many Norwegians do on a nice Sunday, go skiing with the family. And ofcurse we are all born with skiis on our feet! This was in 1981, and me and my sister (to the left) had wooden skiis. We loved going on trips with our parents. And there would ofcurse be hot chocolate and matpakke (norwegian lunch..).

Here is the whole picture. This is at Steinareset, about one hour drive north of Bergen, Norway.

Here is one more picture (1977), showing our cute car and me:) I loved this car and cried the day we sold it….

Sign on to Nordic Galleris newsletter and follow the whole presentation! www.nordicgalleri.com.  

0 kommentarer

    Legg igjen en kommentar

    Obligatoriske felt er merket med *

    Takk for at du engasjerer deg i denne bloggen.
    Unngå personangrep og sjikane og prøv å holde en hyggelig tone selv om du skulle være uenig med noen.
    Husk at du er juridisk ansvarlig for alt du skriver på nett.

Siste innlegg